Chairman, Division of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
Director, Facial Trauma Services
St. John's Mercy Medical Center
St. Louis, Missouri

BS ChE 1979, University of Missouri-Rolla
DMD 1984, Washington University
OMS 1988, University of Illinois-Cook county Hospital

Michael completed his undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering in 1979. He was employed as a process research chemical engineer for the Ralston Purina Company in St. Louis for nearly three years, developing computer math models for transient heat and mass transfer. While working on process research assignments, Michael earned a Doctorate of Dental Medicine degree from Washington University in St. Louis, Missouri. In 1984, Michael was accepted into an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery residency program at the University of Illinois and Cook County Hospital in Chicago, Illinois. During residency, he was exposed to significant facial trauma and reconstructive patients and developed skills and experience in these areas. After residency, Michael became the Assistant Director of residency training at St. John's Mercy Medical Center in St. Louis. St. John's is a Level 1 trauma center dedicated to academic excellence and patient care. Michael later served as the Director of resident training in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and is currently the Chairman of this Division in the department of surgery, as well as the Director of Facial Trauma Services at St. John's Mercy Medical Center.

Michael is active in numerous professional organizations including, Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, American Trauma Society, Omega Chi Epsilon, Phi Kappa Phi, Tau Beta Pi, Kappa Mu Epsilon, Phi Eta Sigma, Alpha Chi Sigma and the American Institute of Chemical Engineering. He is currently President of both the St. Louis Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and the Washington University Alumni Association.

Michael has lectured on trauma and reconstructive surgery throughout the region and is affiliated with 5 area hospitals. He lives in St. Louis, Missouri. Michael was inducted into the Academy in 2003.